Reading and Awkward Stages

From my journal, dated January 7, 2012 (age 17)

Yesterday night I finished reading “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” It was a truly amazing book and it reminded me of “The Catcher in the Rye,” but I thought it was better.

I love that moment when you finish a good book, that momentof awe, the understanding that you just witnessed something powerful. It’s funny how novels, although fictitious, can teach us so much about life, and can at times feel more real than the real world. If nothing else, reading is an escape.

If I was asked what my favorite thing to do is, I would probably say read.

I had a pretty good week at school, as good as a first week back from vacation can be. But it dawned on me that my classes have become boring. I used to love school and learning, but now I’m just bored out of my mind and I can’t read because I sit near the front in most of my classes. I think it’s mostly due to the fact that I don’t really enjoy the subjects of my classes. If I could take Lit, socials, and gov. instead of math, physics, and chem I think I would be much more interested. Or maybe this is just me realizing that I’m kind of growing out of high school. I can’t wait for university.

A similar thing happened in the library today when I realized that few of the books in the “Teen” section interested me anymore. They seemed so immature and… young. I tried walking up the aisles of the Adult Fiction section, but none of those books seemed very interesting either.

What an awkward stage I’m at…

Leave a Reply

