Best Friends

Continued from my journal dated June 22nd 2012 (age 17)

I won’t spend much time ranting about how amazing and smart and ambitious and thoughtful and passionate Stephanie is. Because I can go on forever. If you want to taste of it, you could read my essay titled “My Spark” that I wrote for a scholarship application. But really, so she’s so friendly and enthusiastic, and she never fails to brighten my day, and her passionate activism for world issues – especially environmental ones – inspires me to make a difference as well. In short, I’m so lucky to have a friend like Stephanie.

But there’s something I’ve always known about Stephanie, and that is that I need her more than she needs me. (Not by much though, she often mentions how I’m her rock, always there for help and support). What I really mean to say is that she will move on before I do, because she can’t let links to her past weigh her down, as she strives to change the world. And she’s destined for greatness, of that there is no doubt. Neither of us would have believed in Grade 8 that she would become one of the leading youth activists in the city, founder of a climate action group, lead in the school musical, taking multiple AP courses, playing Metro level soccer, and heading off next year to Stanford.

I’m not being bitter here; it’s just kind of sad that it’s all ending and my closest friend in the entire world will go off and make new Stanford friends who are smarter and more accomplished. We have sworn that will keep in touch, and I’m pretty sure we will, but how can ever be as close as we are now?

I have shared with Stephanie some of my deepest and most personal thoughts and fears. We ended both prom and grad nights together, sharing breakfast at 4am at Lily’s Diner and watching the sunrise on the C. Street Bridge. Those hours we spent together are so sacred to me; we just talked and talked about everything and anything.

I love Stephanie with all my heart, but I know it’s time to move on – she is destined for something greater, and I just hope that I’ll be able to make new friends at university.

Leave a Reply

