Hallowe’en 2012 – aka the first time I threw up from drinking

From my journal, dated November 2nd 2012

I cannot believe it happened and I have NO CLUE how I feel about it. Yep, I’m talking about Hallowe’en and its aftermath.

So I’m a person who doesn’t like Hallowe’en. For good reasons like I’m afraid of scary movies, don’t want to dress like a slut, and don’t think it’s helping our increasingly obese society. Actually, it’s mainly because I find thinking of and getting a costume a cause of stress and anxiety. Anyways, so my plan for this year was to chill in the common room with floormates, crack open the bottle of wine I bought recently, and have a good time. And that’s pretty much what happened.

The first part of the evening I spent watching people get busted for playing beer pong and generally being the only girl in the room. One glass of wine down. Then Kieran poured a rum & coke and left so I drank it. I think it was more rum than coke.

Jeff came in, drinking his own wine, and since he had an 8:30 a.m. midterm the next day, I decided to help him study. Another glass of wine down.

During this time I was feeling good and was actually having a good time. That’s what I remember; the details are fuzzy.

2 a.m. rolls around and from what I remember no one was in the common room except me (?) so I opened the fridge, saw a bottle of Captain Morgan’s and took two big gulps (free alcohol). I started to head to bed, but before I did, I returned to the fridge and took another three big gulps. So smart. Went to bed.

Woke up twice, in the process of puking. After the first time I pulled off my shirt, sheet, and pillowcase. Pulled over garbage can but not much ended up in there.

Alarm woke me up at 9:20 a.m. Let it be known that it was a Thursday and therefore I did not have any classes. I was aware that myself and my surroundings were disgusting, but I couldn’t bring myself to move in until 11 a.m.

What I found: first off I was shirtless which was weird. Then I saw the wall beside my bed was splattered in puke – it went so far it got on the curtains. Puke puddle on the floor beside garbage can, puke on side of bed; basically puke everywhere. Also, I had not properly closed my door. The lock was sticking out but the door wasn’t shut. It scares me to think that someone could have just walked in and seen me shirtless and surrounded by puke. Eww.

I also found Jeff’s sunglasses in my possession (had I really worn those around around?) and a vague recollection of a Facebook post was dawning on me. I had Facebook messaged Stephanie in which I “pinched and punched” her for the 1st of the month and then professed I was drunk. Embarrassing but could have been worse.

Needless to say I spent most of the day cleaning up. (You know it was a fun night when you have to Google “how to wash walls” in the morning). My nausea dissipated by the afternoon and I went for a refreshing jog.

Like I said earlier, I have no idea how I feel about this… I’m just glad I don’t have a roommate!!!

Leave a Reply

