Vacations and wealth

From my journal, dated December 19th 2012

5:20 a.m.

Hey there. So I finished all my exams so I’m officially finished my first semester at university. Time does go by pretty fast. I was supposed to leave for Vienna yesterday, but my first flight was delayed so I would miss all my connections. They booked me flights for the next day and sent me back “home” to rez. It was horrible. I was so ready to leave and see my family again, and now I’ll have a day less with them. I’m not going to lie: I cried. In my defense it was my first time traveling alone and I also didn’t know how to contact my parents.

So here I am now at the airport early in the morning the next day. I’m flying to Washington at 6 a.m., then to Frankfurt at 5:15 p.m., then to Vienna. I’m very excited.

Something I’ve been noticing recently is that when I tell people I’m going on a family vacation to Vienna (and that I moved so far for university), they respond by asking if my parents are loaded.

Now I don’t really know the polite or accurate response to that. I guess we’re fairly well-off, I will say. And more and more I’m realizing that compared the average person, it’s true. I’ve never been “the rich kid” – far from it, and it’s strange because I was raised to be so frugal. I, once again, have to check my privilege. And I’ve become paranoid that I come off sounding like a rich brat, which is basically what happened at a party the other day.

Flight’s boarding; will write later.

Leave a Reply

