Second semester classes, an update

From my journal, dated January 25th 2013

Sorry I haven’t written in a while. I’ve been meaning to, truly. Quite a bit has happened, I guess.

Classes are up and running. Back to the grind. German is still good, and I’m working on a presentation about the possible effects of climate change on Europe (in German). My Canadian politics class is interesting so far. I’m really enjoying it. My intro to International Relations class, on the other hand, is boring. It doesn’t help that the prof mumbles and that his train of thought is quite hard to follow. I guess I just don’t understand what there is to study about it besides, like, discussing and defining globalisation for hours on end.

My English class is pretty good, kind of like English 12 and much more interesting than my English class last semester. Speaking of last semester, I got all my marks back and… I got straight A’s. Really. I’m quite surprised and impressed with myself, really. I did my best obviously, but I wasn’t expecting or really aiming to keep up my streak of A’s. I feel a little pressure now to keep it up, but at the same time, I’m telling myself: “Stop overachieving. Stop your stress, you don’t need to get 100% on everything so go out and have some fun. Be a rebel and don’t do all your readings.”

And, this past week at least, that’s what I’ve been doing. I’ve gotten zero school work done. In my defense, last weekend was Model UN which was a blast and which kept me busy. And then this week I was studying for the Parliament internship written test. That test went OK… I overstudied some areas and didn’t study others enough. In short, I have no idea if I did well enough to make it to the next round – the final interview.

And to be honest, even if I do make it to the final round, I don’t think my level of French is strong enough to land me the job. Not to say it won’t try because boy, would I love the job.

Speaking of my French level, I got another job that will be quite the test of my French. Basically, instead of writing a paper for my politics class, I’m volunteering for an elected politician. Thing is, that she and all her staff are francophone and they were expecting a francophone, since the work involved requires writing letters and what-not to people – in French. I’ll give it a try, but I’m super nervous. I hope that, at least with this challenge, I’ll improve my French. I start next week.

My last class I’m taking this semester is Intro to Women’s Studies (aka Gender Studies). And I love it. I find it so interesting and it really keeps on challenging me to challenge my worldview and I’m learning a ton. Which is a good thing, because, you know, that’s what uni’s about.

Leave a Reply

