The ups & downs of the job

From my journal, dated August 2nd, 2013

I’ve been working at my job now for 3 weeks. It’s had its ups and downs, but overall it’s been a good experience. It took me a bit to get past the crappy pay, the crappy curriculum, the crappy extra unpaid hours, and the complete lack of organization. But I recently got into the groove of it all, and it has been pretty fun. Exhausting, but fun.

This job really took me out of my comfort zone; putting me in front of a class as a teacher. I normally don’t like being the center of attention and thus found teaching nerve-wracking at first, because it all depends on you. The kids wait for you to lead them.

I really did become more confident and, I think improved my leadership skills quite a bit. I’ve also gotten better at kid-wrangling and counting moving targets.

So, in all, I mostly feel really proud. I’m proud of myself for taking on the challenge and succeeding. I learnt that I can teach and be a leader. I’m really glad I got the chance to learn that.

Another thing I like about this job is that I get to go on different excursions and do some typical hometown things that I would like to do anyways this summer, for example going to the Science museum, going skating, playing Laser tag, going to the Park, downtown, the Market, and going to the beach.

Tomorrow (Sunday) I’m going on a 4-day Rocky Mountain trip with the camp. I’ve heard the horror stories from the previous trip regarding the lack of sleep and lack of organization, but despite all that, I’m still excited.

I love road trips and I’m so psyched to see the Rockies again, as well as more of this region’s awesome scenery. I have to get my fill of mountains and forests before going back East.

I’ll bring this journal along and hopefully write in it some more. Maybe about my feelings about the fact that it’s already August and I’m going back to O-town in less than a month! AHHHHH! *don’t think about it*

Leave a Reply

