Career options

From my journal, dated August 11, 2013

I’ve been thinking a bit about careers and the future. As you know, I’ve never know “what I want to be when I grow up” or what I’ll do after getting my poli sci degree. Earlier this summer, I read Kim Campbell’s autobiography and she made me think about other options, like going to law school or running for local council/school board/parks board. It’s cool to see other options and I’ve truly started believing that I’ll find something cool to do, even though that path might be non-linear, or that “something” might be in fact a variety of somethings.

Friday was my last day of work and today is Monday. I’ve really enjoyed sleeping in, gardening, cleaning my room, reading the newspaper, etc. etc. and it kind of makes me think that I may want to become a stay-at-home mother. Just writing that makes me feel like a bad feminist. But I want to be a mother and I don’t mind doing practical domestic work. Even though that makes me want to gag, it’s true. Why can’t women be free to do whatever they like, without stigma?

Leave a Reply

